Subscribe via RSS

Stay up-to-date on everything MFTransparency has to offer by following our RSS Feeds. You can follow all MFT updates, or select between just receiving only News or Resources updates.

Follow on Twitter

Follow the conversation: @MFTransparency

Like us on Facebook

Microfinance as a Potential Cataylst for Improved Sanitation

Published on January 14, 2014

Sanitation microfinance has the potential to sustainably improve sanitation access in developing countries. Microfinance provides the possibility for middle- and lower-income households to invest in a desirable sanitation product that meets their long-term needs and preferences through market-based structures.Their private investment, in turn, can possibly free up public funding to reach the poorest who are unable to risk a loan given their precarious financial capacity.

Water For People has been piloting sanitation lending models with diverse partners in seven countries: Bolivia, Guatemala, India, Malawi, Peru, Rwanda, and Uganda. They are pleased to release a new study, Microfinance as a Potential Catalyst for Improved Sanitation, that synthesize their global experiences to inform general guidance for initiating and improving programs. View the full report here.

Water For People will also host a Sanitation Microfinance Google Hangout on January 23 with an insightful panel that includes: Christie Chatterley – Water For People Sanitation as a Business Consultant and Lead Author of the Report, Kim Lemme – Water For People Program Finance and Contributing Author, Elizabeth Toder – Water.org Senior Manager WaterCredit Advisory Services and Nelun de S. Wijeyeratne with About Microfinance will moderate the discussion.

Several of the key insights from the study will also be discussed, such as:

– How can strong sanitation-financing partners be identified?

– How can sanitation financing be incentivized?

– How should donor funds be targeted to best support sanitation microfinance?

– How can implementing agencies exit sanitation microfinance programs once they get successfully started?

– How should sanitation microfinance be monitored?

Please mark your calendars to join the conversation on  January 23, 2014:

– 10AM-11AM EST

– 9AM-10AM CST

– 8AM-9AM MST

– 7AM-8AM PST

– 3PM-4PM GMT

Location: At Your Computer

Contact: [email protected]

_______________________________________________________________________________________

About Water for People

Water For People helps people in developing countries improve quality of life by supporting the development of locally sustainable drinking water resources, sanitation facilities, and hygiene education programs. Their vision is to see a world where all people have access to safe drinking water and sanitation, a world where no one suffers or dies from a water- or sanitation-related disease.

For more information, please visit their website – www.waterforpeople.org

No Comments

Leave a Reply